Welcome Visitor
Today is Friday, August 7, 2020


Comment     Print
Related Articles

STEWART COUNTY ELECTION NOTICE NOVEMBER 3, 2020 Notice is hereby given that a Federal and State General Election and a Town of Cumberland City Municipal Election and Town of Dover is hereby called for in Stewart County, TN. for Tuesday, November 3, 2020 between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. at all the precincts to elect the following: President, United States Senate, United States House of Representative 7th District, Tennessee State Senate 22th District, Tennessee House of Representatives 75th District, Republican State Executive, Committeewoman District 22 (unexpired term) The Municipal Election for the Town of Cumberland City will be held in District #7 - Cumberland City Precinct in Ward I and Ward II for the purpose of electing: City Mayor, Alderman Ward 1, Alderman Ward 2 The Municipal Election for the Town of Dover will be held in District #4,5,6 - Dover Precinct in Ward I and Ward II for the purpose of electing: Alderman Ward 1, Alderman Ward 2 Town of Cumberland City Qualifying Deadline is 12:00 noon on Thursday, August 20, 2020. Town of Dover Qualifying Deadline is 12:00 noon on Thursday, August 20, 2020. Nominating petitions shall be picked up at the Election Commission Office located at 110 Natcor Drive. Candidates need signatures of 25 registered voters or more who are eligible to vote in the election. Also, each voter signing the petition for Alderman shall reside in the same ward as the Alderman candidate and shall include their name as they are registered and also their full residence address. Signatures for the candidate of Mayor can reside in Ward 1 or Ward 2. Petitions are being issued at the County Election Office during normal office hours listed below. Any person interested in running for office should contact the Stewart County Election Commission Office for further information. Town of Cumberland City Withdrawal Deadline: 12:00 noon on Thursday, August 27, 2020. Town of Dover Withdrawal Deadline: 12:00 noon on Thursday, August 27, 2020 A candidate's request to withdraw must be in writing and filed with the Election Office. The last day to register to vote before this election is Tuesday, October 5, 2020. Early Voting begins on October 14 and ends on October 29, 2020. Pursuant to TCA 2-7-133(i) and TCA 2-8-113(c) notice is hereby given that any person attempting to be elected by write-in ballots or receive a party's nomination by write-in ballots shall complete a notice requesting such person's ballots be counted in each county of the district no later than NOON, fifty (50) days before the election or primary election. Such person shall only have votes counted in counties where such notice was completed and timely filed. Write-in candidates in elections for the offices of Governor, United States Senate and United States House of Representatives shall file their notice with the State Coordinator of Elections. The notice shall be on a form prescribed by the Coordinator of Elections and shall not require signatures of any person other than the write-in candidate requesting ballots to be counted. Last Day for Write-in candidate to file notice: 12:00 noon Monday, September 14, 2020. Forms are available in the Stewart County Election Commission Office. A Photo ID is now required to vote, unless an exception applies. To learn more about the new law and its exceptions, please call Stewart County Election Commission at 931-232-5100 or visit GoVoteTN.com . This applies during early voting at the Election Commission Office and also on Election Day at your assigned polling place For additional information: Office Location: 110 Natcor Drive - Dover • Office Hours: Monday-Friday 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Telephone: 931-232-5100 • Website: www.stewartcountyelection.com The Election Commission does not discriminate on the basis of disability. If there are questions about needed accommodations in the voting process, call 931-232-5100. STEWART COUNTY ELECTION COMMISSION: Robert Girndt, Chairperson, Nellie Settle, Secretary, Tim Borens, Member, Jane Bagwell, Member, Morgan WIlliams, Member, Daniel Perigo, Administrator of Elections. WHAT PHOTO ID IS NOT ACCEPTABLE? a. College student photo IDs b. Privately issued photo IDs, such as your discount club or bank card with your photo c. Photo IDs issued by other states or by county or city government, including library cards WHAT PHOTO ID IS ACCEPTABLE? a. Tennessee driver's license with your photo b. United States Passport c. Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security photo ID d. Photo ID card issued by the federal government or State of Tennessee, such as an employee ID from the U.S. Department of Energy with your photo e. United States Military photo ID, including a Veteran Identification Card f. Tennessee handgun carry permit card with your photo Insertion Date: July 28, 2020

Read more from:
Public Notices
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: